Is Abortion Legal in Arizona?
In Arizona, abortion is banned after 15 weeks of pregnancy, with exceptions for rape or incest and medical emergencies.
When abortion is allowed for medical emergencies (i.e., the woman’s life is at stake), the doctor performing the procedure must use a technique most likely to preserve the fetus’ health. Additionally, a second doctor must be present in the event of a live birth.
Traveling to another state, such as Colorado, Nevada, or California, is legal to receive an abortion.
What Are the Pre-Abortion Requirements?
Before receiving an abortion in the state, a woman must receive counseling sponsored by the state. After counseling, she must wait for a period of 24 hours before returning to the clinic for an abortion.
An ultrasound also must be performed 24 hours before an abortion procedure. Receiving abortion medications by mail is prohibited.
If the person seeking an abortion is a minor, she must receive a parent or guardian’s signature before seeking an abortion.
Is Abortion Covered by Insurance?
Public employee health plans and health insurance offered under the Affordable Care Act in Arizona only cover the cost of abortion when the mother’s life or health is threatened by the pregnancy. Arizona Medicaid does not cover medically necessary abortion procedures.
It is important to note that additional costs may be incurred along with the abortion procedure. Depending on the situation, travel and lodging expenses should be factored in. Follow-up care after an abortion is essential to further monitor the woman’s health, and if you have children, childcare may need to be factored in as well.
If the woman is working, she may need to take time off work during the abortion procedure. In this case, there might be lost wages. As you can see, abortion costs are rarely limited to the procedure itself.